Totally Bananas



Night 1 – We can DO this!!

Last night was so much better than I had expected.  Sara, he was sound asleep in less than 10 min.  I had prepared for the worst and hoped for the best, and it wasn’t half bad.  We did our routine, and for the next few months I will have to be militant about it at least as far as Aiden is concerned, James pretty much knows the gig.  Aiden cried, and he cried hard but he was so tired before going down that there wasn’t much left in him when he started crying (not by accident at all!).  After about 6 or 7 min. I saw him flip to his tummy and he tossed his head a few times and was out.   I almost felt guilty eating the Ben & Jerrys – almost, but not quite.  He woke up at about 10:30 and I fed him a bottle.  That was a big no-no as far as the dr. was concerned, but he refused to take a bottle right before going to bed, so I knew he probably was genuinely hungry.  Knowing Aiden, he thinks that if he sleeps in his crib once than he’s put in his time, and when he wakes up he’s supposed to lay down with Mommy for the rest of the night.  So after that 10:30 bottle I braced for round 2, this time with James sleeping right across the hall.  I shut Aiden’s door and hid under my blankets and prayed for it to pass quickly.  Within 8 minutes he was out and not to be heard from again until 3am.  I’ll take it.  So at 3 I brought him in with me and nursed him – baby steps, right!  And the best part of all – he slept until 7 this morning!  I didn’t think he knew the clock went passed 6.  Wooohooo for us, now for night 2.  Could it possibly go as smoothly??

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jodi says:

    Hooray! I’m so glad it went well for you, Shanna. I’ve been thinking of you and Sara this week while Bea’s decided she wants to start nursing in the middle of the night again 😦

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  2. * amygg says:

    I’m glad it went so well! Hoping tonight is just as smooth!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

