Totally Bananas



Stew Leonards……

Who’d have thought a grocery store would be such a big deal that my mom would take a day off from work to go with the boys and I?  Stew Leonards just opened – maybe a year or so ago – about 1/2 hr. from where we live.  Everyone has raved about what a great kid friendly, entertaining place it was, more than a store, more like an experience.  So I’m all excited.  It’s shopping even if it is for groceries.  Now the big day is here, I get bags packed, the kids ready and loaded up.  I’m thinking Disney World, it was more like local zoo.  Fun, but just not what we were expecting with all the feedback we had heard.  James was a little scared of the different “shows” that they had in each department, mainly because they were so loud; Aiden thought the little guys that hung from the ceiling and flipped over were neat.  I guess the world is limited when you’re in an infant carrier and all you can see is up.  

I did however fall in love with their rice cakes.  Me and a rice cake?  Bet no one saw that coming!  They are delicious and light as air – yah yah, so are all rice cakes, right – well you don’t have to drive 1/2 hr. for those! But seriously they have this contraption that makes the cake and then it shoots it out into a pile and well, I guess that’s it.  I thought it was captivating.  But think whatever you will, I’ll eat their rice cakes and Quaker can stick theirs in their ear!  And, mommy of the year I might add – Aiden started fussing half way through the store and I’m munching away on a rice cake and I think “hmmm.. rice cereal, rice cake – why not?” so he loves them too.  James well, he’ll eat anything that he thinks he’s not supposed to, so if Mommy acts like it’s candy then down the hatch!

To balance the equilibrium of the world, I did get some Bare Naked Heavenly Chocolate Granola.  It’s granola, it’s not all bad!  Yah right, I’m thinking I’m eating healthy until I read the back and see that 1/4 cup is 130 calories.  Oh well, I tried!

I’m getting tired of writing about Aiden’s sleeping, but I suppose that is the “non spectacular” stuff.  So here goes…. Last night he cried for a few min. – perhaps I need to get used to that – and slept from 7pm until about 1:30.  I brought him in with me then, something about being only barely awake makes me barely care if he EVER sleeps through the night.  I kick myself in the morning, but the main goal I had was to get him to go to bed easily each night and we are slowly accomplishing that.  Hooray!  He will sleep through the night eventually, and he’s sleeping longer stretches…. heck at 4mo. old he was still eating every 2 hours.  I’ll take 5-6 hours now.  See, I’m not making excuses, this really IS progress.

Ok, so in the time it has taken me to type this I’ve eaten half a bag of chocolated covered rabbit food – how many calories again???  I’m so un-thrilled with my attempt at a healthy lifestyle!  Where are my M&M’s????  Oh yeah, I almost forgot I like rice cakes now!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * amygg says:

    Sounds like an interesting store. I’ve never heard of it. I love rice cakes… even the Quaker ones, lol. Now I want some. 😛 I’ glad Aiden is doing better with his sleeping. It won’t be long before he’s sleeping throught the night!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * amygdala2 says:

    That store sounds interesting to say the least. And where can I get me some rice cakes that taste good??? I want some!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

