Totally Bananas



Pick your Topic?!?

What to blog about today???  I could tell you all about our backyard – because noone ever gets sick of hearing about that.  Or I could tell you about Mr. Hottie Tree Guy that packed up all his stuff last night, collected his final payment and marched right out of my life moved on to the next project… but not before wiping the sweat off his forehead with the bottom of his t-shirt exposing one of the most amazing sets of abs I have EVER seen.  I was starting to walk away as we wrapped up talking to him as he was cleaning up and I caught out of the corner of my eye what he was about to do, and I nearly broke my neck I whipped around so fast – there was no way I was going to miss that show!  My poor husband is getting a complex. 

Or I could talk about names.  Jodi has inspired me a smidge.  What with a name like Shanna, I sort of have a corner on the market of difficult names.  My name, obviously I didn’t pick it out, has been a thorn in my side ever since my mom dropped me off at kindergarten alot of years ago.  I have had to spell it, repeat it, pronounce it to nearly everyone I meet.  It’s not so hard, if you take the “S” off the front you have Hanna – we all know that name right (Hannah anyone??). Or I can take it one step easier – take off the “Sh” and you have Anna – are you with me???  Now, add the “Shhhhh” sound to the Anna and TA DAHHHH… there you go, Shanna.

According to the fine people at Behind the name, Shanna is short for Shoshannah (wasn’t the Jerry Seinfeld’s old girlfriend???) which is Hebrew for Susanna – so I guess in a round about sort of way, it’s a pretty common name.  It also has a far reaching Biblical context

“In the New Testament this is the name of a woman who ministered to Christ. It also occurs in the Old Testament Apocrypha as the name of a woman falsely accused of adultery. The prophet Daniel clears her name by tricking her accusers, who end up being condemned themselves.”  -“this name” is referring to Susanna.

So enough about me…..

My boys.  James.  Technically, James is named after my grandfather James who passed away shortly before I got pregnant with my James.  But, after doing a small bit of research here is more about why we chose James as his name.  In the New Testament, James is the brother of Jesus.  -This will NOT go to Aiden’s head!!!!  The book of James highlights perserverance and patience which in knowing we were already going to choose that name just completed the full package of the name.  Being a woman, I know that patience and perserverance are traits that are becoming in any man.

Then there’s Aiden.  Aiden is our Irish boy.  Both my husband and myself are very much Irish and are very proud of our heritage and wanted to honnor that.  Aiden’s name means “red or Fire” and was commonly used by the high kings of Ireland.  We had no idea that this child would be appropriately a red-head.  He is proving to live up to his name in that he’s a fiesty little guy with a hot temper!  -yay!

 

So there you have it, our names.  I’d tell you about Scott, but I didn’t name him nor do I have his name so I can’t walk a day in his shoes.  I’d tell you about our last name, but that’s getting personal – it’s of German descent and also is shared by a famous person in history – not necessarily a German.  Is that vague enough??? 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanna says:

    You’ve got it easy with your name. Try having mine. Everyone mispronounces it. But it’s so simple, just sound it out. Jean – na. See. Simple.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

