Totally Bananas



Nineteen Minutes – Jodi Piccoult

What a great book.  I’m not one to be an obsessive reader, but that changed.  I never could really belly up to a novel until I started reading Janet Evanovich and she got me hooked; I read her whole number series and any other book from her that I could get my hands on.  Luckily, in my non-stop frenzy, I could finish one of her books in about 2-3 days so I could somewhat hide my obsession.  After finishing EVERYTHING that Janet worte I found myself lost without a good read.  What good is sitting out on the deck on a nice summer day if you can’t bury yourself into the pages of someone else’s world.  I had heard good things about Jodi’s books so I thought I’d check it out.

I had no basis on my decision of this book in particular.  Mainly  I thought the picture on the cover left a bit of mystery as to what lay inside; and it certainly wasn’t about what I thought it might be based soley on the cover.   I can say it was a very good read, and unlike Janet, it took me nearly a week to trudge through the 400+ pages of teeny tiny print (ahhh – a challenge!).  That’s right, I was shooing my family away for 6 days so I could read… not good.  But I just couldn’t put it down.  I felt the characters in my thoughts throughout the day when I wasn’t reading – that’s a good thing I guess from an author’s standpoint.  So anyway – it lacked the gut busting humor of Janet Evanovich, but it still sucked me in all the same.  Now, stop here if you just want to run out and read it and be just as suprised as I was as to the main plot – or read on for what it’s about!…..

 

The book starts out with some preface about different characters, and then reaches the main plot of a Columbine type shooting in a small bedroom town in New Hampshire.  The main characters are an attorney, a judge and her daughter, and a midwife and her son – with several other characters in the spotlight, but those 5 hold center court.  The twists and turns of the plot give you several ideas for outcomes to the end of the book (none of mine came to be).  So it certainly has you guessing.  That’s all I’m giving – I don’t want to ruin it.

The book does contain a spattering of strong language, but I somewhat expected that.  It’s not Janet Oakey, but no where near Evanovich’s profanity level, but in the emotion of the plot it’s definitely there but not overdone. 

Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

