Totally Bananas



Think About it Thursday!

Ok, I took this weeks TAI Thursday from the latest Jodi Picoult book that I just finished My Sister’s Keeper. If you want a rewiew of it, I’ll make it quick – it’s rather depressing if you’re a mother; and my head has been reeling since I finished it.  This weeks thought comes on the heels of discovering that my 2 year old is coming scary close to being 3, and my itty bitty baby is going to me 1 in just 2 days. How did that happen? 

Life sometimes gets so bogged down in the details, you forget you are living it.  There is always another appointment to be met, another bill to pay, another symptom presenting [that part goes with the plot], another uneventful day to be notched onto the wooden wall.  We have synchronized our watches, studied our calendars, existed in minutes, and completely forgotten to step back and see what we’ve accomplished.

How many times have I just lived through each day and not stopped to notice that Aiden is walking and talking at an amazing rate.  Or that James can tell me all his letters, numbers, colors and shapes.  My head gets so wrapped up in the stress and the schedules that I seriously am guilty of failing to step back and say “wow, when did these 2 grow up”.  My prayer is that I never miss a step along their journey – to be there in the moment to praise them for every accomplishment they make.  I remember when James climbed out of his crib for the first time – I was so excited for him.  My husband told me to tell him not to do it – which of course I didn’t encourage it.  But think about it, that wasn’t the first time he tried to do that.  He must have been working at his escape for a while before he actually got big and strong enough to make it over.  Good for him!  Now don’t do it again! 🙂  I hope that I can continue to get excited over each accomplishment no matter how small and ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

