Totally Bananas



I Think I’m in Love!

I have a problem – have I mentioned that before?!?  I love to shop, and I mean love.  Any time, any place if there’s shopping and/or food count me in.  So with that said, that means I also love grocery shopping.  I view it as endless potential… new things to bake, new things to try, cook, eat (I have a food problem too).

Given my problems, I live in what’s nearly considered the shopping Mecca of Connecticut.  There is perhaps every store known to man within 5 miles of my house – and this includes grocery stores.  In 5 min. I can be at 7 different GROCERY stores including our brandy new Aldi

I took my first trip to Aldi over the weekend, and I may be in love.  While I’m not exactly the generic type I thought for the sake of novelty I’d give it a try.  There are several name brand types in there – though I don’t think they are regular items, kind of hit or miss, but so far their proprietary brand has proved to be very good.  And the prices are exceptional.  So for someone like me who goes to the grocery store for the sake of going to buy something, anything to be creative with this is great.  I can get chocolate chips for $.99 and make something that may or may not be very good and not feel terrible if whatever I make lands in the can under the sink. 

We purchased “their brand” of Pillsbury cinnamon rolls (something I generally DON’T mess around with, I’m a Pillsbury faithful) and had I not already tasted Pillsbury’s ridiculous goodness, these would have been spectacular.  But, at $1.99 vs $3.49 for Pillsbury, they tasted heavenly.  You could argue the coupon point, but every coupon I’ve see requires you to buy at least 3 and I don’t think I would see my shoes anymore if I was forced to have 3 things of those in the house at any given time.

Aldi comes with their own set of rules, and thank heavens I visited their web site before we went.  I knew of the $.25 required to use a cart, but I also learned that it is strictly BYOBags, or you can purchase some there if you need to.  Also, they don’t mess around with credit cards or checks, so it’s cash or your ATM card only.  That would have nailed me.  Basically this place offers the no nonsense shopping that I need to support my habit.  Fewer choices, bag it yourself, return your cart please, cheap prices, take it or leave it – I love it!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mistee says:

    I wanna grocery store like that!!!! :0( Glad you had fun, though I am a tad jealous!! ;o)

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Jodi says:

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one. I *heart* ALDI 🙂 Some of their own brand stuff is better than the name brand. Their microwave popcorn pops *perfectly*, the poptarts are awesome, and don’t even get me started on the 35 cent burritos! I even like the names of their generic brands for everything (((blush))). I’m glad there’s enough ALDI for both of us to love, because you’d have to fight me for it 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

