Totally Bananas



I’m BACK!!!

Whew – the holiday whirlwind is finally over with the small exceptions of a few people that we still need to get together with, but the bulk of the mayhem is behind us.  It’s so bittersweet.  I love love love the holidays especially now that I get to see it through the eyes of my boys and that is so much more fun than one could ever imagine.  But, on the other hand, I’m a homebody and I really don’t like the craziness that goes along with seeing people only at this specific time every year.  So while I hate to see the fun of it all end, I’m exhausted!

So all that being said, my creative bone is in hibernation and I’m stealing a post from Tasha’s blog.  She did a video blog, and you’ll thank me for not doing that because well, I’m in my jammies and a little freaky right now (oh what, it’s quarter till 2, don’t judge me – my husband’s working a double, the Jehovah’s witnesses have already been here,  honestly, who do I have to impress??) – back on point… she did a video blog about things that bug her.  So to get out all my negativity (HAHA) early this year instead of saving it for Festivus like I usually do I’m going let it all fly right now.  Please don’t get offended, I mean nothing personal by any of this.  (oh and Tasha, my husband ‘and whatnot’s’ in every other sentence he says.  I never noticed until now – thanks!!) Get ready….

1.   Again, with the offending anyone business… I’m really bugged by the Jehovah’s Witnesses.  Not in general, hear me out.  This one couple of ladies came by a few weeks ago, mid-morning mid-week clearly to catch all the stay-at-home mom’s desperate for adult conversation in the neighborhood ( The normal routine of ducking down below the windows and pretending to not be home until the coast is clear gets the shaft when there’s a handfull of rowdy toddlers to out you).  So I answer the door and they go into their business and hand me a tract – fine I don’t mind (much) I can be respectful of their time and their endeavor.  But today, they came back.  She reviewed what she went over with me and wanted to give me more literature.  I proceeded to tell her that we were members of a church already, and we really don’t have any questions about what happens when we die or what the purpose for the Earth is.  I saved the fact that I spent 13 years in a Christian school and by 3rd grade had memorized every piece of Scripture that she was tossing at me.  She wouldn’t let it go, my 3 year old was calling me, Aiden was crying, and this woman wouldn’t stop going through her little booklet – which she finally generously gave to me (oh THANK YOU!) but it was obvious that this wasn’t a good time, I had an irritated look, but she wouldn’t take the hint.  So I started talking and closing the door and finally she got it.  I just have a hard time with people trying to sell me their religion.  I would share the Gospel with anyone that I felt was open to it, but honestly I think it is more of a turn off when it is pushed at someone and they have no way out other than to be blunt and rude.

2. The holiday obligations.  The business of buying a fabulous obligatory gift for someone that you will neither see nor talk to for the next 364 days.  What’s even better is when you don’t see those people at all because your kids have a bedtime, so you leave the gift at a dinner party and now haven’t seen or talked to them in 2 years but will certainly be expected to buy a gift again next year.  These are the people that you probably wouldn’t even send a Christmas card to in normal circumstances – but because somewhere along the way you got a gift from them or they got one from you, you are now locked in for life because no one wants to cut the gift ties.

2b. The obligation to be in 8 places at once.  Ok, 8 is a bit of a stretch, but on Christmas eve I am expected (expected is the correct word) to be in 3 places at the exact same time.  I have finagled one to be earlier in the day and I think it is just wrong that “home” is last on the list.  So this year it got bumped to #2, and I never made it to stop #3.  Sorry.  But my boys putting out reindeer food was much more important than a dusty gift basket from someone that I haven’t seen in years.

Ok, that’s about it.  I think I’ve chewed your eyes out long enough.  There are other things but I’ll save my continued tirade for another day. 🙂 

I hope everyone had a safe and happy holiday.  I’ll give the run down and pictues later.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * AmyG says:

    I hear ya on the Jehovah’s Witnesses. There is one lady that comes to my door EVERY month! I made the mistake of opening the door to her several months ago… and she’s been back ever since. No matter if I’m in my PJ’s, dressed, the kids are screaming, I’m watching someone else’s kid… or preparing Thanksgiving dinner… yes, Thanksgiving!, she still keeps right one talking. I’ve never invited her in & there are times I feel guilty for that, but I still haven’t done it. I’ve even not answered the door before & she still comes back, lol. It gets annoying after a while.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Mistee says:

    Your post had me rolling laughing! I feel the exact same way about all of the above!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Tasha says:

    Girl, aint nothin wrong with lookin freaky for a video blog! Ya know I’m gonna pull it one of these days. 😛 Your reply to my ride-along post had me crackin up. We could write a freakin BOOK on things that bug us, eh? I video-ed it because it’s just too much to type!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

