Totally Bananas



Benefits of New England Winters

So here I sit looking out my kitchen window and all I can is a layer of ice covering everything but the inside of my house.  The high today is supposed to reach about 25 degrees.  This makes me think about moving….. south ……..way south………… like Key West or Brazil.  Every year I hate it, and every year I complain so today, I’m looking at all the positives of the cold weather and snow.  Ready, this very well may be the shortest post ever.

5. Snow is beautiful.  I love the trees with a fresh covering of snow on them.  It’s straight out of a Currier and Ives picture.

…that same snow on the trees weighs down the branches so they fall on power lines and we loose power for a week.  No power means no heat.  And it’s cold.

4. Ice skating is fun, lots and lots of fun.  I grew up on a lake and that was just what everyone did.  The boys played hockey and the girls skated around and talked about the boys.

…ice skating hurts after you reach age 24.  And falling hurts at any age.  And it’s cold.

3. Cozy sweaters.  I love to get all bundled up in front of a fire with some comfort food and a Lifetime movie.

…can’t exactly do that with 2 boys, and it’s probably wrong to hire a sitter so I can sit in another room and get fat. But it’s cold.

2. Sledding.  Our boys have discovered in the last week or so that sledding and snow angels are loads of fun.

… 2 small boys + 2 pairs of socks, 2 pairs of snow pants, 2 pairs of boots, 2 sets of mittens, 2 jackets, 2 hats – and then dress yourself before one of them passes out from the heat.  You’re lucky if you get outside before nap time the next day.  All that because it’s COLD

And the #1 reason why I LOVE winter in New England….. *insert drum roll*

1. When you find an old sippy cup in your car, you don’t need to be afraid to open it because it’s been in a glorified refrigerator the whole time!

….because IT’S COLD!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * AmyG says:

    LOL… you’re so funny! Send snow this way… Please!! Not the ice, though… sorry for that. 😉

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

