Totally Bananas



I Might Cross A Line Here…

I’m not sure if anyone reads this, but I’m probably likely to offend someone if they do.  So just a recap, I’m currently going to college full time to become an Elementary school teacher.  I’m in my second and FINAL (did you see that?) year, and will student teach next fall.  I’m currently taking a World History class and really need to unload about something.

I’m usually pretty lighthearted, and really am the eternal optimist.  When God closes a door, he opens a window type mentality ~ except in my case, he only leaves the window open enough to the get front half of my body through and I’m left hanging half out of the window… but that’s neither here nor there.  So needless to say, in order for me to get all serious.

To the point already…. In my history class, were were discussing the origins of different religions.  And I don’t think I live in an isolated bubble, but do you have ANY clue as to how women are treated in different places in the world??  I’m not about to name names, at the risk of having some crazy mob seek me out, but I’m shocked.  We thought slavery was a dead issue – it may be, but some religions and governments see their women as the next best thing.  Workers, baby machines, and completely disposable.  And I mean disposable in the literal sense – if they get in a man’s way they should just be killed.  How is this possible?

The class watched a movie on the topic, if anyone wants the name I’ll give it to you but not on here…. and several of us left the room sobbing at what the women were put through.  This is 2010, not the 1800’s.  I thought the world had progressed farther than that.  It’s wrong, and I don’t care who knows it!!  I don’t expect everyone to believe in the same God that I believe in, but I expect people to regard each and every human being with a certain amount of respect.  We are humans and we deserve dignity and respect, women AND men alike.  It just amazes me that some places in this world are still so primitive and backwards.  Pray for them, please!!

Leave a Reply

